RSS

Testimony or Thankimony?

24 Feb

Some people in testimony meetings seem to think they have some to gratitude meetings.  Someone imagined what it would be like if one such person were asked to be a witnessed to an accident:

Brother Smith is called as a witness in a traffic accident. He was the only witness of the accident that happened late at night.

Prosecution: Mr Smith, can you give us your testimony as to the events of August 1st at 11:00 pm?

Mr. Smith: I was out walking my dog when the accident happened, and I am so thankful that I had my cell phone with me or I would never have been able to call 911 in time!

P: Ah, yes Mr. Smith, that was fortuinate, but can you testify of what you saw happen?

S: Yes, the police arrived at the scene. I am so thankful for the police force of our city. They are always available when we need them. I don’t know how society would function without then. Our police force is so selfless in how they serve. They put themselves in harms way to protect us. I am so grateful for all they do for us!

Judge: Mr. Smith, while we all share your feelings of gratitude for the police force, the prosecution is asking for your testimony as to the events of the accident. Can you share those with us?

S: Sure. The accident was horrible and the people in the cars were terribly injured, I am so thankful for the paramedics that arrived on the scene. They were so skilled in helping those poor people. We should all be grateful for the many lives they save. I hope and pray that if I am ever in need of medical attention, that they are there to help me.

P: Judge, I have no further questions for this witness. Clearly he has nothing to share about the accident.

http://www.ourthoughts.ca/2006/08/06/fast-and-thankimony-meeting/

In 1881, John Morgan, pioneer of education in Utah and who taught the likes of Heber J. Grant, Orson F. Whitney, Mathias Cowley, J. Golden Kimball, and Brigham H. Roberts published a pamphlet titled “Plan of Salvation.” One of the things he said in it is the following:

“Sincerity of belief does not in any way establish the correctness of a principle. Only an unimpeachable testimony can do that. Man’s belief does not affect a principle in the least. The whole world may believe a principle, and it may be untrue; the whole world may refuse to believe a principle, and it may be true.”

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on February 24, 2010 in History

 

Leave a Reply

 
